Can’t repeat the past?…Why of course you can!

The Great Gatsby, by Baz Luhrmann. A film I’ve been looking forward too for ages. It’s finally here and it’s everything I expected it to be. No one could have done a better job on turning F. Scott Fitzgerald’s masterpiece into a film. Baz is the emperor of magic, drama and love! He’s also the first who succeeded in using the 3D effects in the right way for me. And then there’s Leo, transporting me back to my teenage days, when I first fell in love with him as Romeo. His hair still flips in that perfect way and that look he gives a girl… Maybe I should break-out my old Leo posters again!

Except the perfect director and the perfect actor, this story is set in the perfect decade: The Roaring Twenties. The age of exuberance and the gayest fashion the world has ever known. If only for the costumes, you should go see The Great Gatsby!

Catherine Martin, Baz’s wife, is one of the most amazing costume designers Hollywood has ever known. A golden couple in every possible way! For The Great Gatsby she collaborated with non less than Miuccia Prada and Tiffany’s! Miuccia adapted 40 of her designs into a twenties version and with great success. When Baz brings an old story, he always gives it his own contemporary touch. A job perfectly done by Miuccia and Catherine on these costumes! Tiffany & Co tops this off with the perfect bling! My favorite Leo suit? The pink one of course! No one can pull of a pink suit like he can.

For those who don’t know the story yet, I’m not going to spoil it for you. All you have to know is that The Great Gatsby is a love story, but above all a story about hope and being optimistic despite all odds. The original American dream.
Perfect cinema weather outside, what are you waiting for?

xoxo
Nathalie

Thank you FOX Belgium for treating us to a magical night.

Want to know more about the Prada collab, watch the video below:

Want to know more about the Tiffany & Co collab, watch the video below:

Another big plus to The Great Gatsby? The soundtrack is phenomenal! My favorite song, Lana Del Rey with Young And Beautiful:

One comment

Leave a comment